The Nuns at Lunch

A couple of months ago I was sitting in the local Panera Bread sipping on a smoothie when two nuns came in and had lunch two tables from me. One was carrying a little dog in a bag, which was pretty cool to me.

Now I admit my perception of nuns is based solely on three things 1) the Sister Act movies with Whoopi Goldberg, 2) the play and movie Doubt by John Patrick Shanley (which I had to read and watch senior year) and 3) my friend’s stories of Catholic school.

Watching these nuns (I was probably rudely staring) as they ate their lunch made me think:

Those two women are automatically labeled as people of peace by their outfits. You know immediately that they are women of God, and no matter what your opinion is of them, you cannot deny how beautiful their dedication to their faith is.

 

And so I look at my life. Am I like a nun in the sense that people will know that I represent the Father when I walk into the room? Do I bring in light to shine over the darkness?

I would like to think so, but honestly I know it’s not 24/7, 360.

Let this be our prayer:

Father, please help me to show your love and light in the darkest places of my life. Please help me to not just show, but share your Spirit that is within me.

 14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:14-16

One thought on “The Nuns at Lunch

Leave a comment